Back from vacation!

Wow. So from August 11 through the 18th I’ve been on a motorcycle trip with my father. Meaning every meal for that week was eaten out at restaurant (either sit down or fast food). I was cringing over the idea of this, because I was convinced I would balloon up in weight. Especially since early in the week I gave up on trying to figure out the calories of all these mom and pop restaurants. 😦

Little exercise, bad food…surely nothing was going to save the trip.

But I surprised myself. There were a lot of things going on this past week, including my return of allowing myself pop, that I really thought I’d struggle with.
So I’m going to break my week down into bullet points.

  • I thought for sure all the eating out would completely undo my new healthy lifestyle. Except…I didn’t count on the fact that I was going into this consciously thinking about everything I ate and whether or not I was full. I splurged ‘food choice’ wise more than I should have, but I also picked many healthier alternatives throughout the trip. I think that saved me quite a bit.
  • There was little snacking. We ate when we stopped at restaurants, but dad and I didn’t have room on the bike for snacks. So all my in between meal food binges was cut out. I didn’t plan on that, but it was a nice way to keep me in check.
  • I thought the combination of allowing pop back and having to eat out all the time was really going to send me into OMG-I-LOVE-POP mode. Except, the first day I got it back…it didn’t really taste spectacular. In the end, I had water with my meals more than I did pop…and after coming home? No pop. It’s allowed, I’m just choosing otherwise. I have a feeling it might be something I treat myself with, but I’m not sure. At the moment, I don’t miss it.
  • What I really didn’t even think about? Was how badly all that greasy food would make me feel physically. For most of the trip I couldn’t sleep at night, my stomach was so upset. By the last day, we raced out to a store to grab some pepto-bismol because I was miserable.

Now that I’m home…

  • I realized I really missed my water. Yes, I was drinking it at most meals, but not nearly as much as I do when I’m home. I didn’t dare. When I was getting back on that bike and we might not be stopping for another 2-4 hours, the last thing I wanted was a full bladder! But now that I’m home, I’m chug-a-lugging again and loving it!
  • I miss working out. I feel sluggish, exhausted. With my work schedule flopped for the next two weeks, I’m on a modified exercise routine (because the only place to work out here is the living room where everyone can watch and I hate that). But I’ll be adding back in some weigh lifting, daily walks, and some stretching. All things I can squeeze into either my bedroom, or on the dog walks. Once my schedule goes back to normal I’ll get back into my full workout and weight schedule, and I can’t wait!

But still, all in all, I didn’t even gain a full pound for that week, so I did pretty good. Now, I’m just gonna get back on track and start putting my energy back into the lifestyle I’m creating for myself. (Where I happily get to prepare my own food, with so much less grease!)

Leave a comment